Can Social Prescribing Tackle Loneliness? — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Can Social Prescribing Tackle Loneliness?

KateJopling
KateJopling Community member Posts: 1 Connected

I’m Kate and I work as a consultant with organisations in the voluntary sector on a range of issues including ageing, health and care. In recent years I’ve done a lot of work on loneliness like working as Director of the Campaign to End Loneliness, writing the final report of the Jo Cox Commission on Loneliness and recently assessing progress on the Government’s Loneliness Strategy on behalf of the Loneliness Action Group.

Loneliness and Social Prescribing

One of the flagship announcements in the Government’s Loneliness Strategy last October was the roll out of social prescribing services across England – with funding from NHS England by 2021 every Primary Care Network (PCN) will have a Link Worker to help people to access support and activities in the community.

This is good news. There is limited evidence around what works in tackling loneliness overall, but what there is suggests that offering individuals who are experiencing or at risk of chronic loneliness one-to-one support is a good way of reducing loneliness. With chronic loneliness being defined as feeling lonely often, it is this support that allows them to reconnect with people in their communities

So why am I worried about the roll out of social prescribing?

Making sure Social Prescribing works for Loneliness