Lower back pain — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Lower back pain

Options
vicky1975
vicky1975 Community member Posts: 1 Listener
Hello I’m new to this but would love some advice, this time last year I bent over and had 2 snaps in my lower back, never felt pain like it, I was of work for 6 weeks and was back and forth at doctors for painkillers, went to physio week later and went weekly for a couple of months to no avail, I wear a back brace, tens machine, heat pads, and take naproxen daily, I saw a osteopath who basically was saying it was in my mind! The last couple of months it got better and I stopped all painkillers and was so happy. 2 weeks ago I booked a massage and that night it really started to hurt and ever since it’s been so saw, I payed private for an mri scan which apparently was the best back he had seen all day! And just said it’s muscle related, I’m 44 and feel to young to have this pain already ?any suggestions would be much appreciated.

Comments

• chiarieds
    chiarieds Community member Posts: 16,103 Disability Gamechanger
    edited November 2019
    Options
    Hi @vicky1975 - Welcome to the community & thank you for joining.
    I'm sorry about your lower back pain, 'tho it's good to read you've had a scan to make sure about your spine.
    I started getting intermittent lower back pain as a teenager & later had X rays done & the radiologist said these didn't explain why I was in so much pain. Again, a little later I saw an osteopath who was also a Dr, & he said he'd never seen so much muscle spasm in the muscles that run on either side of the spine (which were acting as a splint to protect my spine).
    Perhaps the massage was too deep for you & has exacerbated your pain.
    It might be an idea to go back to your GP & discuss with them. That would be the best to get appropriate advice & help.
  • EmmaB
    EmmaB Community member Posts: 263 Pioneering
    Options