Advice needed please! — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Advice needed please!

cheriedawn
cheriedawn Community member Posts: 2 Listener
My son is 16 just started college this time, he has always been very different to his siblings and at times very challenging,  throughout school years teachers have mentioned he may be autistic, I work in education and this has always been my thoughts too...but referrals to doctors, mind, cahms and educational psychologist have not helped as he refuses to speak to strangers. My son is struggling at college and doesnt like the new environment or new people, large classes etc...at high school he spent his days in the sen hub with the support team and wouldn't often go to class. When recently assessed by the sen team at college they told him he shows adhd traits, this troubled him a little and since this he is skipping classes even more. He has been on dla for 2 years but when he turned 16 he got declined for pip..I've had to give up a full time job to ensure I can drop him off at college otherwise he would not go at all. Do I need to get an official diagnosis for my son in order for him to get additional support at college? He says now that he feels he could speak to a doctor maybe about himself which is new. Is an official diagnosis worth it this far down the line? I feel like I've really let him down and I just want to access all the support I can for him...only came across this group by accident so hoping maybe someone can advise me what is best. Thank you. 

Comments

• poppy123456
    poppy123456 Community member Posts: 53,360 Disability Gamechanger
    Hi and welcome,

No, he doesn't need an official diagnosis of anything to receive help from his college but it would certainly help in the future. I diagnosis doesn't change anything and it won't change the way he is.