Not eligible for universal credit? — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Not eligible for universal credit?

Rainbowbrite
Rainbowbrite Community member Posts: 2 Listener
Hello. I work in healthcare and moved to a job in January 2019 asI was struggling to perform my previous duties due to Illhealth. I started in this new job and lasted 1 month before occupational health told me this new role was not suitable for me. Work was aware I had a surgery date in may and was advised to go on sick leave due to the job not being suitable for me and not enough time to find a new job before impending surgery. I had major surgery in may 2019, with a full recovery period of 12 to 18 months. After 6 months of me being on longterm sick, 4 months following major surgery I was told I would need to join the redeployment list to look for a more suitable job. This redeployment list is a hope at a job in my organisation but by no ways guaranteed. My sick pay from work ended in October and I was advised to claim ESA. I have since had a face to face appt with ESA and almost certain I will be found fit for work. Personally I agree, but due to occupational healths strict rules regarding where I can work on the redeployment list, I am very limited in job opportunities. When my ESA is stopped, I wont be able to claim JSA and will be forced onto universal credit. But here is the problem. My income is currently zero from work and has been for many months. I am struggling financially but with financial support from my parents, I am managing to cover my mortgage. When I entered my information on the benefits calculator for UC, it tells me I am not eligible for universal credit as I do not have a child and no disability (that fits their conditions, even though my condition is classed for work purposes as covered by the Disabilities discrimination act). Is it possible that I am entitled to nothing? My income from employment this tax year is