The working world isn’t built for those with care needs — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

The working world isn’t built for those with care needs

machoo
machoo Community member Posts: 2 Listener

My name is Matthew and I’m 25 years old. I have limb girdle muscular dystrophy and I’m a powerchair user. I am a writer but also, I work full-time as a customer service advisor.

Trying to gain employment

As a disabled person I’m often encouraged to be independent and congratulated for being so. But over the last year I learnt that there are discrepancies between the various services I rely on to allow me to live an independent life.

landscape picture of matthew in his powerchair looking into the distance

Early last year I suddenly found myself jobless and without a carer. There was no way around it, I would have to apply for Universal Credit. Part of the process is immediately attending Jobcentre appointments and filling in a booklet, documenting your 35 hours a week job searching.

After a few weeks I do find another job. It’s another customer service job, the only kind of job that is really pushed by welfare-to-work providers on disabled people. This is due to plenty of positions being available regardless of your educational background.

Managing your care needs

If you’re disabled and living on your own like me, you might rely on carers. For me they’re essential to get me up in the morning, get ready for work, and to provide personal care in the morning and evening.

One day I discovered that I could get personal care for free. I don’t want to think about the months spent faffing about when I could have been receiving care, but I was just relieved that I could finally not rely on my friends and family every day to live my life. I’m lucky I have this support network, not everyone does.