Help transitioning from child to adult services. — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Help transitioning from child to adult services.

EClarke07
EClarke07 Community member Posts: 4 Listener
I am new to this as my brother has recently gone from being supported by childrens services to becoming an adult. He is still in education but this will soon stop and we are unsure what the future will look like for him. Hoping to find support and guidance from this group 

Comments

• poppy123456
    poppy123456 Community member Posts: 53,333 Disability Gamechanger
    HI and welcome,

I'm one of the community champions here on scope and i'm here to help and advise others.

When my daughter reached 18 then children's services transferred her to the adult services. This could be the same for your brother but the parents will need to speak to children's services for more information and they will advise them correctly based on your local councils criteria.
    I would appreciate it if members wouldn't tag me please. I have all notifcations turned off and wouldn't want a member thinking i'm being rude by not replying.
    If i see a question that i know the answer to i will try my best to help.
  • Jay1969
    Jay1969 Community member Posts: 23 Connected
    I think children services support stops when anyone reaches the age of 16-18 depending on circumstances. I’m sure your brother will continue getting support but from some other organization rather than children services.
    I think the best people to enquire about this is the children services who’ll point you in the right direction if your brother is deemed to need continued support..
    Hope that helps...
  • poppy123456
    Children's services stop when you reach 18 and not 16.
    I would appreciate it if members wouldn't tag me please. I have all notifcations turned off and wouldn't want a member thinking i'm being rude by not replying.
  • EClarke07