Tired and preparing for a PIP tribunal — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Tired and preparing for a PIP tribunal

HOBrien
HOBrien Community member Posts: 3 Listener
edited June 2020 in PIP, DLA, and AA
This is my first time. I'm waiting for a PIP tribunal. The Dwp has until 4 of July to reply. 0 points twice. I have aspergers now called autism. Both times was reused because I was diagnosed late in my 40s. and went to a mainstream school. So I didn't have autism till my 40s.and I. Haven't been statemented as a child. Aspergers wasn't diagnosed in 1964.i had problems yes but no one had any idea what was wrong we me so I was labelled stupid and ignored. So I'm being denied pip for being born at the wrong time. Angry depressed. and so tired. I had a lifetime dla award. 

Comments

• phillycollings29
    phillycollings29 Community member Posts: 57 Courageous
    Hello @HOBrien.  A very warm welcome.  I don't have an answer for you but I am sure someone will be able to help.  Am up for a chat if you would like that.  You can just let me know.  :)
  • Chloe_Scope
    Chloe_Scope Posts: 10,586 Disability Gamechanger
    Hi @HOBrien and a very warm welcome to the community! I'm sorry the experience of PIP has not been as smoothly as DLA. Unfortunately they are different benefits and will be assessing different things.

PIP looks at how you are affected on a daily basis, rather than just the diagnosis that you have. When you had the initial assessment, were you able to get a copy of the report? This will show you why the porint has been given, but also so you know how to plan the tribunal.

I appreciate it can be such a worrying thing and that it can impact your mental health. Do you have any support at the moment?
    Scope

• janer1967
    janer1967 Community member Posts: 21,964 Disability Gamechanger