Support with the diagnosis pathway — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Support with the diagnosis pathway

sherrieo
sherrieo Community member Posts: 4 Listener
Hi. My name is Sherrie. I'm here for advice and a sense of comeradery. I have had lots of training and experience with children with ASD, EBD and sensory processing disorders. Ever since my little girl was 1 I have been able to see certain traits that aren't Neuro typical. Due to my training and ability to accommodate her needs she has gone undiagnosed. She is now nearly 7 and has become very adept at masking her difficulties. She is home educated due to finding school so overwhelming, the school used to send her home on days when senior staff weren't in so I took her education into my own hands which isn't a problem as I work in primary education. I'm now finding it hard to navigate the pathway to a diagnosis as there aren't any professionals that know her well enough to support or give evidence of the struggles she has. I know it's going to be a long road so any advice or just conversation with parents in similar circumstances would be lovely. Thanks for reading.

Comments

• steve51
    steve51 Community member Posts: 7,153 Disability Gamechanger
    Hi @sherrieo

Good Afternoon  & Welcome to our online community.

I am one of the CommunityChampion’s here at Scope. Please please let me 

We have got some good info for you below.

https://www.scope.org.uk/services/

https://www.scope.org.uk/family-look services/family-activities-leeds/parents-carers/
    https

Ihttps://www.scope.org.uk/family-services/family-activities-leeds/parents-carers/

I do hope that is okay for you???!

If you require any further help please let me know.

@steve51

• janer1967
    janer1967 Community member Posts: 21,964 Disability Gamechanger
    Hi and welcome to the community great you have joined us