Inclusive Technology — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Inclusive Technology

Yaning
Yaning Community member Posts: 3 Listener
edited September 2020 in Start here and say hello!
Hello everyone,

My name is Yaning and I'm studying Population Health at university in London. My friend Divya (who is also on this forum) and I are working on a project to develop technologies for a more inclusive society; I am interested in accessibility because of the subject I study and my personal experience with disability, while she has gotten involved in this field because of the nonprofit and consulting work she has done.

We have thought of developing an application and website that uses predictive text to prompt people in their everyday speech if there are words that are at the "tip of their tongue" or are difficult to find. This would take a lot of practice and machine learning before it was accurate enough, but we thought we would make a start on the idea.

Could I please ask what you all think of this kind of software?

Is it useful? Would you or someone you know benefit from it? Is there anything else we should keep in mind?

Thank you so much, and I hope you keep well and safe.

Kind regards,

Yaning
Tagged:

Comments

• emmarenshaw
    emmarenshaw Community member Posts: 710 Pioneering
    Welcome to the community @Yaning I’m sure some of our community will be able to provide some of their experiences. It sounds really interesting.
  • janer1967
    janer1967 Community member Posts: 21,964 Disability Gamechanger
    Hi @Yaning Personally I hate predictive text as it automatically puts in the word for you from the first few letters and if that isnt the word you wanted you then have to mess about changing it. I always switch it off, just my opinion
  • leeCal
    leeCal Community member Posts: 7,550 Disability Gamechanger