Full Time Study & ESA — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Full Time Study & ESA

Ophelia_Rose
Ophelia_Rose Community member Posts: 2 Listener
I'm currently receiving the new style ESA after getting ill at work but I recently started studying (literally within the past 2 weeks) as a full-time student at university. I've applied for student finance and DSA but as I applied for the wrong year - I had to reset my application. Student finance is taking between 6 to 8 weeks to process it and even then, I'm not entirely sure everything will go right (I have the worst luck when it comes to admin). 

I'm not sure if I'm still entitled to it or what I should do. I do need some sort of funding for basics - such as food and rent. My partner is working but a lot of his income goes on paying off debt. We will be okay when/if student finance comes in but in the meantime - we do need funding to live.

Thanks!

Comments

• poppy123456
    poppy123456 Community member Posts: 53,352 Disability Gamechanger
    edited October 2020
    Hi and welcome,

Being a full time student doesn't affect your claim for New style ESA and neither does any student loan because NsESA is not means tested.

Do be aware though that if being a student contradicts the reasons why you're claiming ESA then it can go a against when any decision on a work capability assessment is made.

Do also bear in mind that NsESA is only paid for 1 year unless you're placed into the Support Group and then it's paid for as long as you remain entitled to it.
    I would appreciate it if members wouldn't tag me please. I have all notifcations turned off and wouldn't want a member thinking i'm being rude by not replying.
    If i see a question that i know the answer to i will try my best to help.
  • Tori_Scope
    Tori_Scope Scope Posts: 12,488 Disability Gamechanger
    Welcome to the community @Ophelia_Rose! I hope you've found the above advice useful.