25th Anniversary of the Disability Discrimination Act, but what still needs to be improved? - Page 4 — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

25th Anniversary of the Disability Discrimination Act, but what still needs to be improved?

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 1,651 Connected
    Parrot123 said:
    @MrAllen1976 Well said Sir. I totally agree i have a 0 work limit. I feel as if i could do something even part time. But the Drs have written me off i am not even 50 yet Will
    Indeed, 5 years ago they wrote me off as incapable of working, even though I've been doing voluntary work since 1994, and would willingly work a 16 hour week in a Shop or wherever as I've spent the last several years working in almost every Charity shop this side of Sheffield.

• newborn
    newborn Community member Posts: 832 Pioneering
    I believe Dame JaneCampbell had a well trained team of advocates to swing into action each time she became ill, including pals in high medical places, in high legal places, immediate relatives and private doctors who knew the system.   She needed all that, because the N.H.S. had the habit of looking at someone like, say, Professor Steven Hawkins, and declaring "well, someone with limited movement and using a wheelchair has no quality of life, so ought not to be resuscitated or treated".