Hi! I’m new! :) — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Hi! I’m new! :)

JordanRose
JordanRose Community member Posts: 8 Listener
Hello everybody! Don't know if this is the right place to introduce myself but here goes...

I'm Jordan, a student from Manchester. I am studying 'Language. Literacy and Communication' and would like to work with disabled people once I've graduated- how, I'm not completely sure as yet- I'm hoping to get some advice and guidance on this on the forum :)

I volunteered in a special school a couple of years ago and can honestly say I loved every minute of it- that experience confirmed who I wanted to work with! I've also worked with teenagers with learning difficulties at a Christmas party, and have experienced disability within my family. I have cousins with CP and a great-auntie who has Down's- they are all such amazing people, and I do anything I can to help them and allow them to enjoy their lives.

I think it's so important to raise awareness about disability, as it is something which is too often ignored. I look forward to getting to know people and hear about your experiences. I feel I will learn a huge amount on here, and can hopefully offer some of my experiences, too.

Thank you for reading! :)

Comments

• Katherine Hayward
    Katherine Hayward Community member Posts: 74 Listener
    edited June 2014
    Hi, just read your posting.
    I´m in agreement that you should raise as much awareness as possible about disability and I think its great youvé volunteered to do that kind of work. I didn´t go to a special school bt know ppl who did and had support workers at school and uni myself so really valued the work they did, am still in touch with those from my infant and junior schools today. I really think you have come to the right place.