SLT — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

SLT

kathryn
kathryn Community member Posts: 8 Listener
edited June 2014 in Education
Hi,
I am new to this.
I know that Sppech therapy is hard to come by, BUT.
We have an SLT who has written a report on my daughter that is incorrect, being polite.
The LEA are trying to remove SLT from her statement and are using the SLT to do it.
How can I fight the "professionals"(who know best ha,ha),
Does anyone have any suggestion?

Comments

• Heather
    Heather Community member Posts: 168 Connected
    Tough battle Kathryn. Have you got anymore consultants onboard, consultants, phycologists? Even OT if the issues around speech are to do with muscle control. Have you asked the experts on the Netbuddy forums? Good luck
  • kathryn
    Hi,

She does 2days in special and 2 in a mainstream primary. The primary are going to write a report to say it is rubbish and she has a therpist, who will hopefully do the same thing.
    They are saying (in political terms) that she is too stupid and not capable of speech therapy. We have been waiting for OT input, since she started the special school in October.
    She can talk but needs to slow down. the therapist has said that if hse does not understand concepts e.g. God and death, she can't have SLT.
  • Heather
    Heather Community member Posts: 168 Connected
    Sounds like LEA are putting up barriers to prevent costs as the reasoning sounds mad. I've fought for SLT for my son repeatedly and some have said...he can't speak, therefore there's nothing we can do! The best SLT teacher I ever met is based in Medway and is American. She works privately now and comes without the english brickwall barriers. Get the right professional and I bet your daughter would come on in leaps and bounds. Just got to sift through alot before you find the right one. Keep going!!!!! It will be worth it.
  • LondonSpeechTherapy