Health — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Health

aimes29
aimes29 Community member Posts: 12 Listener
edited October 2014 in Cerebral palsy
Hi. I'm 35 and has athetoid cp. Over the last 10 years have developed pain everyone. Wondered if problems with the stomach eg. Constipation, IBS, acid reflux, feeling sick is known to be more common with aging with cp.

Comments

• Noah
    Noah Community member Posts: 425 Pioneering
    I'm no doctor, but I have never read anywhere that the problems you describe are more common with aging and CP. It maybe worth booking yourself an appointment to see your doctor. There is some helpful information on aging and CP on this website and well worth a look. Let us know how you get on, hope things improve for you.
  • Noah
    Pain as you get older is very common, this is because we tend to put a lot more stress on our bodies, than an able-bodied person. Good diet, good sleep routine, exercise, is important for everyone, but particularly those of us that have CP. What areas of your body are in the most pain? Have you found anything that helps relive it?
  • milo
    milo Community member Posts: 129 Pioneering
    I'm 39 and have had IBS, Acid reflux etc for past few years. Always thought it was due to gall bladder surgery a few years ago, until I was told by my neurologist that he had seen a number of adults with CP who had similar symptoms. I now take lanzoperole daily to protect my stomach from the cocktail of medications i'm on and it has had the added effect of drastically reducing acid ( nice to have a side effect that works in my favour for once). Would be interesting to know if these symptoms are linked to CP though.
  • aimes29
    Thank you for you replies. Have pain in all my body, been told it's neuropathic pain and basically need to learn how to cope with it. Been to doctors, several have limited knowledge of cerebral palsy.
  • milo