Bad employers! — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Bad employers!

JadeB
JadeB Community member Posts: 62 Courageous
Hi everyone I'm new to scope and thought I'd start my first discussion with something that's been upsetting me for a while.

i have quite mild ataxic cerebral palsy. I have always worked since leaving college and am now 23. As well as being a support worker which i love. I always work a couple of short evenings a week in a supermarket. (Their slogan being every little helps!) I have been open with them about my CP... But some of the manager there obviously haven't done  Their research and don't think before  They say. In my 12 week review I was told:

I'm not fast enough (well I don't walk at one mile an hour so can't be that slow)
and I need to split my break in half to use The toilet because of my incontinence!!! What a disgusting thing to say!!! 

A while after that I strained all liniments in my ankle and could nearly walk. I was planning to go to the walking centre as the swelling was so bad!!! Instead of being supportive I was told to come in and sit on a till or I get a disciplinary!!! The manager then joked 'can't have you skiving now can we.' I Told another younger manager how unhappy I was and she was really nice but the rest just don't understand. Not one to moan and always give everything my all. I don't know how to approach this with my employer. 

Comments

• JenniferU
    JenniferU Community member Posts: 108 Pioneering
    Hi @JadeB

Really sorry to hear you're not having a great experience at the moment with your work. I'm sure @Chell will be able to offer you some advice! 

Keep us updated. 

Best wishes
    Jen

• OlliHannah
    OlliHannah Community member Posts: 30 Connected

Hi Jade