Hello, I am a Fashion student looking into fashion and disability! — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Hello, I am a Fashion student looking into fashion and disability!

sophiaStudent
sophiaStudent Community member Posts: 5 Listener
edited September 2016 in Research and opportunities
I am currently in my final year doing a Fashion degree, and I am writing a dissertation on disability and fashion. I am looking for anyone willing to help me with my research as I was recommended this site to try! 

I am really trying to understand the practicality and struggles those with physical disability may face when buying clothing. I feel there is currently a gap in the market for comfortable fashionable clothing, which is wearable for those who have a disability, but strive to stay on top of fashion trends. This is something I am wanting to work on myself and would be extremely grateful for anyone's time. I would love to hear any feedback, questions or any comment you all may have!

below are just a few questions I have come up with, however please feel free to comment on anything else that you feel could be relevant or useful for my studies. I am targeting males and females and a wide range of ages so as much feedback as possible would be fantastic.

Do you feel there is a gap in the market for comfortable fashion for those with a physical disability?
where do you currently shop and buy your clothing? Do you have to go to a specific place?
Are there any difficulties you face when buying clothing?
do you find the clothing you buy practical AND fashionable?
would you benefit from stores such as Debenhams, Topshop/man, Next, Zara and HnM, that provided current fashion trends, but could cut designs specifically for those with a physical disability?
would you also be interested if stores provided a free alteration service for yourself?
Are there any other comments you personally would like to add?