Collaborate with CSM students to design a better wheelchair experience. — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Collaborate with CSM students to design a better wheelchair experience.

aepclark
aepclark Community member Posts: 3 Listener
edited January 2017 in Research and opportunities

Hi there!

I am a product design student at Central Saint Martins currently working on a project to improve the experience of people using a wheelchair. I would love to hear your opinions on what needs to be improved for wheelchair users as well as any stories you may have relating to issues you have come across personally or observed in public. My aim is to spark conversation in the community to identify situations which could be improved through design.

I look forward to reading your replies!

Alex Clark

Comments

• Alex
    Alex Posts: 1,305 Pioneering
    Hi Alex, 

Welcome to the community. Could you be a bit more specific? What would you like to improve - the look, size, cost, comfort, mobility, weight?

We have many wheelchair users on the community.

You might be interested in reading this thread where people discuss their wheelchairs:
    https://community.scope.org.uk/discussion/30040/wheelchairs-arent-used-they-are-worn

Thanks,
    Alex

• aepclark
    Hi Alex,

I'm glad I found the community, there's a lot of great stuff being discussed here. The link you provided is very interesting! 

I live in London, so have been thinking about how to improve mobility in pre-existing environments. That would depend heavily on weight, size and manoeuvreability I assume.