Evangelist — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Evangelist

Nuala Watt
Nuala Watt Community member Posts: 30 Listener
Hey - I have spastic diplegia and a visual impairment. Someone I know has discovered God, and thinks I should pray to be healed. I find this very difficult. I'm used to evangelists in the street saying this - I can't get out of their way all that fast - but no one I know has done it before. I explained that I didn't want to be healed, but I'm not sure she could understand this. She said she had wanted to be healed from her mental health problem. I've had mental health problems in the past and understand wanting them to get better, but I don't think cerebral palsy is the same thing. I'm fit and well and mostly happy - I just have some unusual brain lesions but my life is quite good and I'm doing a Phd and have a partner and am mostly in a good place. I'm not sure how to deal with the evangelism nicely. She used to be a good friend, but I think this is quite a big gap. I wish she could accept me as I am. How can I react well? I understand that this is an expression of concern for me, but it hurts. A real miracle would be if everywhere was accessible and everyone could accept cerebral palsy without turning a hair. Lots of people can. Any polite ideas? Not sure how to react. Cheers. Nuala

Comments

• RonnieH
    RonnieH Community member Posts: 2 Listener

I have been in this situation before, and the nicest thing I can think of to say to them is that I respect that they want to believe in god but its not for me and I would appreciate it if they didnt pressure me into it.

Hope this helps

Ronnie
  • mollymoobarnes
    mollymoobarnes Community member Posts: 107 Listener
    Hi Nuala