PIP, working, housing benefits and council tax — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

PIP, working, housing benefits and council tax

Adilkha
Adilkha Community member Posts: 4 Listener
edited February 2017 in PIP, DLA, and AA
Hi I have just received PIP....i just want to no if any 1 has got this and still go to work...how does it effect your housing benefit and council tax 

Comments

• Alex
    Alex Posts: 1,305 Pioneering
    Hi Adilkha,

Welcome to the community.

I'm not an expert, however I know that PIP is not means tested - so you can earn money and still receive PIP. When you have an assessment they might take your work into account (for example if your job involves moving around, they might take it into account when looking at the mobility component).

As for your question about housing benefit and council tax - I'm not sure, so I've moved your question into our benefits advisor category, so hopefully they can help you in the area.
  • BenefitsTrainingCo
    BenefitsTrainingCo Community member Posts: 2,621 Pioneering

Hi Adilkha 

I agree with what Alex said; PIP is not means-tested and you can work and receive PIP.  Like Alex says the nature of the work could lead the DWP to query whether you qualify for PIP, particularly if the activities involved in doing the job are at odds with the activities you have claimed difficulty with.as a result of your illness or disability. A lot depends on how much work you do as well and if you have help or support to do the job so there are times when it's not clear cut. If you have any questions about this please post back on here.