Hi, I'm Violet, ask me questions about ASD — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Hi, I'm Violet, ask me questions about ASD

VioletFenn
VioletFenn Community member Posts: 124 Pioneering

Hi, I’m Violet. My youngest son has High Functioning Autism and I was diagnosed with Asperger’s Syndrome in my forties, so I have plenty of ASD experience! I’m a freelance writer - my article, ’Things you should never say to the parents of an autistic child’ is still one of the most-shared items ever on the Metro.

I am also diagnosed with Generalised Anxiety Disorder, which I manage through a combination of meds, humour and downright bloodymindedness. 

Ask me questions about parenting autistic children, anxiety disorders, living with high functioning autism and being diagnosed with ASD as an adult.

Comments

• dogloverhexagon
    dogloverhexagon Community member Posts: 2 Listener
    Hi Violet, thank you for your post on late diagnosis. Can you tell me how long I put had to wait for the assessment and whether there is any way of speeding up the diagnosis. Many thanks.
  • VioletFenn
    Hi @dogloverhexagon In all honesty, it really is a 'how long is a piece of string' kind of question! Every NHS area has a different way of routing people through the system and some, unfortunately, have barely any adult diagnostic pathway at all. Your best bet is to speak to your GP first and ask them to refer you for assessment. Or get in touch with your nearest local ASD support group - even if they only usually work with children they'll almost certainly have some ideas of who you can talk to. Some areas have a particular consultant who sees adults for ASD assessment as a matter of professional interest - it might be worth asking the support group if they know of anyone.