Do i have CP — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Do i have CP

emilygreen4
emilygreen4 Community member Posts: 6 Connected
Hi guys,
Wondering if someone can help I'm very new to this sort of thing so bear with!
I am 24 years old and I have from birth had a very abnormal walk. I was in and out of physio and splints when I was at primary school but nothing seemed to work and it wasn't perused anymore until recently. I went to my GP with aches and pains on my joints waist down from when I have been walking ect. I walk I would describe 'Like a duck' I tend to stick my bottom out and as I walk my legs do not flex they are always bent at the knee, I also have very stiff muscels. I have terrible balance and tend to trip over my feet an awful lot when my legs get tired.
Long story short I was sent to a Neurologist via a physio as her first thoughts was CP (bearing in mind I have never been told this -it came as quite a shock!). I then had an MRI scan on brain and spine, the brain scan came back clear but I have a slight abnormality on my cervical spine and the Neurologist aren't willing to peruse it any further as there is no concern.
I then was referred to Orthotics and am having splints made up for me to help with support whilst walking, she also said her opinion was CP. 
I just am not convinced that I haven't got CP now I have heard it, and after alot of research I can relate to it so much.
So my question to you guys is there any way a mild case of CP may not show on an MRI scan or would any type and severity of it show somewhere?
I know it can be a hard thing to detect and there is no definitive test for it so does that make doctors not label it as that even if they my think it?

Really struggling to find answers and a diagnosis for what i have. If anyone has any advice on what route to take/Who to ask I would be eternally greatful!

Thank you
Emily

Comments

• Siouxzie